Everyday Racism Project Wins Prestigious Award

Last week I was in Bali at the invitation of the UNAOC (United Nations Alliance of Civilizations) and the BMW Group. The annual Intercultural Innovation Award is a partnership between these two organisations that aims to select and support the most innovative grassroots projects that encourage intercultural dialogue and cooperation around the world.

All Together Now’s mobile phone app Everyday Racism won second prize at the Award ceremony. This is quite an amazing achievement given that over 600 projects from all around the world were nominated. It is such an exciting moment for all of us at All Together Now!

Video provided courtesy of BMW Group. Video produced by TVT Creative Media.

While in Bali I was fortunate to spend time with all of the finalists and hear about their inspirational projects that collectively spans all continents. Our neighbour finalist from the Asia-Pacific region is Manav Seva Sansthan “SEVA”. This project is working along the Indo-Nepal cross border transit points to facilitate safe and informed migration among the vulnerable Nepalese migrants and combat human trafficking under the shadow of migration. Such an inspiring story!

The Intercultural Innovation Award Press Conference

Photo provided courtesy BMW Group. Photographer: Leonard Adam Photography. Yes, that is Ban Ki-Moon in the centre!

All Together Now looks forward to working with the UNAOC and the BMW Group over the next year to strengthen our business plan and scale our app to new audiences, particularly 14-17 year olds.

The success of the Everyday Racism app would not have been possible without the following people and organisations. Props to all of you!

  • Prof Kevin Dunn, Dr Jacqueline Nelson & Rosalie Atie of University of Western Sydney
  • Prof Yin Paradies of Deakin University
  • Dr Naomi Priest of Melbourne University
  • Murray Bunton, Scott Sanders, Tim Middelmiss, Andrew McNaughton, Tom Maitland & Rosie Woodhead of Agency
  • Marcelo Baez, graphic artist
  • Jonathan Adams of Ten Alphas
  • Monty Noble of Noble Brands Worldwide
  • Our project advisory committee: Zubeda Raihman, Mariam Veiszadeh, Aisha Jabeen, Blake Tatafu, Adam Hansen, Nat Heath, Peter Dawson, Rahul Dhawan, Mridula Amin, Tanvi Bedi
  • All Together Now’s project team including Priscilla Brice, Will Harvey, Delphine Vuagnoux
  • All Together Now’s Chairperson Kylie O’Reilly



Leave a comment